Fried Stuffed Okra

I have finally come around to read “The Girl. …” trilogy. I am on the first one, some 200 pages down and I must say it is quite gripping. Narration is good, but for the life of me, I cant seem to pronounce the names of all the Swedish people and places. So I just make up my own names and read on πŸ™‚

I have fallen all over in love with Sailu’s blog. I have a bunch of basic recipes bookmarked for this week, the first one among which is Fried Stuffed Okra. I’ll admit, I am not the biggest fan of okra, I rather eat plain rice than sticky okra πŸ˜‰ The few times I actually do cook it, I load up the pan with lots of onions and completely caramelize the whole ensemble – so you cannot point out exactly, where the okra is πŸ™‚

Inspite of all this, I do like to eat okra, when it is fried crispy. And stuffed okra with fresh grated coconut filling does just that. Its super-easy to make, needs basic ingredients from home and doesn’t take that long either. So here you go …..

Ingredients:
1 pound of okra – washed, wiped dry
Oil
1 tblsp Curry leaves
1 tsp asafoetida

Stuffing:

2 tblsp cumin powder
2 tblsp coriander powder
1 tsp red chilli powder
2 tblsp white sesame seeds
1 tblsp ginger-garlic paste
3 tblsp crushed peanuts
4 tblsp fresh grated coconut
1 tblsp sugar (brown)
Few twigs of coriander leaves
Salt

Method:

1. Wash and wipe the okra. Slit them vertically to create an opening to stuff in the stuffing
2. Mix all the ingredients for stuffing.
3. Fill 1/2 to 1 tsp of stuffing in each okra. Depends on the size of okra. I couldnt find those nice long ones, mine are really tiny.
4. In a non-stick pan, heat 3 tblsp of oil. Add the curry leaves and asafoetida powder.
5. After a minute, place the stuffed okra in one layer in the oil in the pan. Add the remaining stuffing if any to the pan as well. I love the cooked crisp stuffing so much, I always make more and sit around eating the stuffing, while the BH eats the okra πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚
6. Cook on one side for about 8-10 mins on medium to low heat.
7. Turn the okra carefully on the other side and cook for another 5-10 minutes. The okra should be soft. I leave it longer to make them really crisp. Depends on how you like it.
8. Serve with rice or rotis. I made some masala rice on the side.

Enjoy!!!

~ by kharasmithaas on October 5, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
