Fennel flavored egg curry

I just got back from a quick trip to Chicago and I cannot even begin to talk about the crap we eat on flights. Sugary drinks, sodas, cheese bites, oreos, candies …. arrghh!! What about on airports – muffins, high calorie scones, cheesy sandwiches, burgers, coffee and what not. Both of my flights back home were delayed, which only means more eating and more coffee. thankfully the BH had packed some cereal bars in my bag, so I munched on a slightly healthier option this time around. But my point is, I would really like the airplanes/airports to serve something a little more healthier than cheese bites … puuhhllleeze. As if being stuck in a cramped space for 4 hours is not bad enough punishment, add the cheese/soda to it and there goes my gymming for a week!

Anyways, from last night’s experience, I have decided not to eat anything served on flights anymore. I am planning to carry something of my own and eat a proper meal before getting on (thank god, i dont get sick on planes) to survive.

Okay … moving on, here is a very simple egg curry that I read on Sailus Food. I have made it once before, but this time I just pulse everything together into one curry. Also I got rid of all the egg yolks.

Here it goes …

Ingredients:

4 boiled eggs (for 2 people)
2 tblsp fennel seeds powder
1 tblsp red chilli powder (less if you dont like spicy)
2 tblsp cumin-coriander powder
1/2 tsp turmeric
3 tblsp coconut (shredded)
2 small onions – roughly chopped
2 small tomotoes – roughly chopped
Salt
Oil

Method:

1. Heat oil in a pot and add the onions and tomatoes. Cook for 5-7 minutes, until the tomatoes are tender and the juices flow.
2. Add the coriander-cumin powder, chilli powder and turmeric. Cook for another 2 minutes. Turn off heat.
3. In a blender, add the cooked onion-tomato mixture, fennel powder, coconut and salt to taste. Blend to a puree.
4. Pour back into your pot and on high heat, let it come to a quick boil.
5. Add the boild eggs (yolks removed, chopped into halves or quarters) and serve!!

Enjoy!

~ by kharasmithaas on July 26, 2010.

One Response to “Fennel flavored egg curry”

  1. That looks Scrumptious! Besides for me, anything with fennel seeds is a must make!

Leave a Reply

 
