Corn Fritters

As the BH falls asleep and snores lightly next to me, I cannot seem to fall asleep. How can I? After all the stuffing at dinner, I have grown an entire extra tummy I guess .. ๐Ÿ˜› We were both practically stuffing our faces with the chaat I made for the evening. Its like we had never seen chaat before ๐Ÿ™‚

Anyways, so I decided to use this little time to update the blog with a couple of pending posts …The other day Parija mentioned corn fritters at lunch and I couldnt seem to get those out of my head. But most recipes I searched for, crushed the whole kernel corn and then made fritters from the whole entire batter and coarse corn paste. That was not sort of the idea we had in mind. Then finally I found this corn fritter recipe on Pioneer Woman and decided to give it a shot.

So here’s a slightly adapted version of the original recipe.

Ingredients:
1 cup all purpose flour
1 can of whole kernel corn
1 tblsp sugar
1 tsp baking powder
2 eggs
1/2 cup of milk (adjust consistency of batter)
Salt
Cayenne Pepper
2-3 green chillies
Oil for frying

Method:
1. In a bowl, mix the flour, salt, sugar, baking powder, cayenne pepper, green chillies and eggs. Mix together to make a batter. Add milk as necessary.
2. The batter should not be runny. Drain the corn completely from the can and add to the batter.
3. Heat the oil in a pot for frying.
4. Add spoonfuls of batter into the batter to form the fritters. After about 2 minutes turn sides and fry on the other side until golden brown.


5. Drain on a paper towel

I served them with sweet chilli sauce.

If the batter is a little runny, the fritters will spread out. If the batter is firm, then you will get small sized bound fritters. Mine became a little runny, because I did not estimate that the corn from the can, came with a little moisture too ๐Ÿ˜› Next time, Ill keep that in mind.

~ by kharasmithaas on March 26, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
