Shrimp and Mango Curry

This weekend I discovered a treasure. An arts and crafts store less than a mile away from where I live. A wonderful place to find almost anything!! I mean I was totally awestruck as I was browsing through the aisles up and down. All the stuff, all the kinda tiny little things that you always wanted to do something or the other with, but never found in your regular stores. Man, did I mention I almost spent a couple of hours there 😛 I remember my bhabhi mentioning about it a couple of times before, but I had never ventured in so far. As soon as I entered I realized what I had been missing out on.

This weekend is also one of those rare weekends, I relaxed the most. Slept in both days, visited the Farmer’s market (after a really long time), had a nice grocery shopping time, napped in the afternoon, watched lots of “Life” and “Eli Stone” and made Shrimp and Mango Curry and an awesome Mango dip. I found mangoes in the local Indian store and I couldn’t resist.


The shrimp curry was the fastest curry I have ever made. Its possible to whip it up in less than 10 minutes and tastes best when it is served immediately. So great, when you want something quick to eat 🙂

So here’s how it goes ….

Ingredients
1 pound shrimp (whichever type you like, the small prawns or the large king shrimp) – cleaned and deveined
1 large mango (medium ripe)
1/2 cup coconut milk
1 tblsp red chilli paste
1 tblsp of butter
2 cloves of garlic – sliced not minced
1 1/2 tsp of mild curry powder
Cilantro/Parsley for garnish
Salt


Method:
1. In a pan, heat the butter. Once it melts, add the shrimp and toss around in the butter a little bit. Cook until the shrimp is about half cooked.
2. Add the mango pieces, and the coconut milk.
3. Add the chilli paste. Sprinkle the curry powder. Toss and cover shrimp and mango pieces in coconut milk.
4. Adjust salt, cook for 5 more minutes.
5. Garnish and serve on a bed of hot bed of rice (I like to fry the cooked cold rice in a tsp of butter, chopped cilantro and 1 tsp of lemon juice)
Enjoy!!!

~ by kharasmithaas on March 21, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
