Zanzibari Chicken

Last Friday I realized how close I was to reaching the 30-year mark. So much has been done, and so much is yet to do … but the idea of having lived almost three decades, scares me a little. Being the youngest in the family, I have always been treated like “the young one” and so the fact that I have already lived about 1/3rd of my life already (that is assuming i will live to be a 90 year old granny … ) is a little mind-boggling.

Anyways, the good part is I still have about 2/3rds left (again assuming I live upto 90) and so I can do lots in whats left. More than anything, I am so glad to be close to my loved ones and how much they made me feel special on my day.

For example, these beautiful flowers that were delivered to work by the BH …

or the lovely phone calls from India …..

or this awesome guava cake that my bhabhi and brother brought along …

Thinking of this, I remembered, of this awesome chicken recipe that bhabhi had given me a few days ago and I have been meaning to try ever since. So here it is … I loved it every time she made it for us. Its unique in the fact, that the curry is made without any onions, tomatoes or the usual three spice combination. In fact the sweet taste comes from dates (khajur) and the spicy taste comes from the red chillis (kashmiri red ones  or dried). Its a perfect combination of sweet and spice and throw in some crushed cashew and you have yourself a splendid curry 🙂

Here’s Bhabhi’s recipe for it.

100gms cashew nuts
7 kashmiri chillies ( or as spicy you want)
25 gms dates (khajur not kharak)
15 gms full dhanya (coriander seeds)
5 ms zeera

1. Make a paste ( as fine as possible) of the above ingredients in the mixer
2. Boil 8 pieces of chicken with green masala (adrak , lasan and crushed green chillies (may be just one)) in a vessel till the chicken is done.
3. In another vessel put some oil, suite the ground masala (paste) for around 5 minutes till you see the oil is mixed properly with the the paste. Add the cooked chicken with its stalk. Bring it to boil. When done adjust the consistency.
4. In the end, add 2 table spoon of tomato ketchup and maybe 1 teaspoon of tomato hot and sweet (if available, tomato hot and sweet is optional). You have to be careful of the overall spice in the dish.

ohhh … by the way, the very beautiful serving dish in the pictures is my happy-birthday gift from one of my very close friends. Thanks Parija!!

~ by kharasmithaas on March 16, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
