Two subzees and Two movies

I just finished reading “The Time Traveler’s Wife” and shortly then I watched the movie too. Its amazing how some movies are horrible versions of their corresponding books and some do more justice to the story than the book itself. This one is of the second kind. The book is pretty long with numerous instances of Henry’s time travel and Claire’s life interwoven in his expeditions, but after a point, I felt like saying “Okay, I got the point that he time-travels!” The movie on the other hand captures all the important instances with major events and efficiently filters out all the filler material of the book. In short, what I am trying to say is that for once, the movie has done complete justice to the book. All in all, I liked it. Its good stuff!

Thinking of good stuff, I realized sometime mid-week last week, that I had mis-calculated what I was going to cook and had ended up getting some extras vegetables from the market, which meant, if I didnt take care of these veggies, they would go bad. So I woke up early morning, to cook the fennel bulbs and the baby spinach in such a frenzy as if something bad would happen if I would let them go waste. So I made some cabbage-fennel dry meal and palak paneer which is long due to be recorded here. And boy!! this is my all time best. The kind of slow-pock I am, cooking two meals within an hour was a big achievement for me, even if it is not so much of a big deal otherwise.

Ok, so back to the movie talk – me and BH watched “From Paris With Love” this weekend. Let me just say, if you want pure vanilla action with men gunning people down and heads exploding and blood splattering and fast cars and terrorists and well you get the point … this is your movie. Dont get me wrong, the action is good, but it is not backed up with an equally powerful story line, in fact its the same old cliched terrorist story line that we have seen like a gazzillion times before that it just ends up being a gory video game or something 😛
So we switched back to watching episodes, as we generally do. Currently we are watching “Life” and “Eli Stone”. Both of these are currently off air, but both are awesome. I dont know how crappy stuff like “Grey’s Anatomy” runs and runs and runs and good stuff like this is taken off air within 1 or 2 seasons.
Until 6 months ago or so, I was quite un-initiated in terms of watching TV. I would just watch movies on my computer, but now I am hooked, totally!! Ohh … I am watching “New Amsterdam” also. That one is also off air now. But you can find it on Hulu.

All this talk makes me hungry … lets sample some of the cabbage-fennel and palak-paneer, shall we??

Cabbage-Fennel Dry Curry

Ingredients:
3/4 cabbage – shredded. Whole if you have a small to mid size cabbage
1 bulb of fennel – sliced
1 tblsp cumin-coriander powder
1 tsp turmeric
1 tsp cayenne pepper
1 tblsp lemon juice
1 tsp parseley or coriander
1 tsp cumin seeds
1 tsp mustard seeds
Salt
Oil

Method:
1. In a pan, heat some oil. Add the mustard and cumin seeds. Once they pop, start adding the cabbage.
2. As it heats up, it will lose its crunchiness and volume. Add the sliced fennel.
3. Sprinkle the spices and salt and let it cook for 5-7 minutes.
4. Toss once or twice gently and cook for another 5 minutes.
5. Sprinkle parseley and serve hot with rotis or parathas

I had read about combining cabbage and fennel sometime ago on “Whats For Lunch Honey?”

Palak Paneer

Ingredients:
2 bunches of washed and cleaned spinach or 1 pack of baby spinach
1/2 block of paneer – cut into small cuboids or bite sized pieces
Turmeric, Coriander-Cumin powder, Chilli powder – spices as per your taste
1/2 cup Milk
1 onion chopped finely or onion paste is fine too
Salt
Oil/Butter

Method:
1. Heat oil/butter in a pot/pan. Add the onion chopped/paste and let it cook for 2 minutes.
2. Once the onion is translucent, add the chopped spinach slowly. As it loses its volume, you will have space to add more.
3. Cook the spinach for about 5 minutes until it is soft. Turn off heat and let is cook.
4. Once cool, transfer it to a blender and puree it into a fine/coarse paste as you like. Some versions of palak-paneer add a little yogurt during blending to get a smooth consistency.
5. Bring the pureed spinach back to your pot/pan and let it cook over low flame for 5 minutes.
6. Add the paneer, and the spices. Add milk to adjust consistency.
7. Let the curry cook with paneer in it for 10 minutes, so that the paneer soaks in the spices.
8. Serve hot with rice or rotis

~ by kharasmithaas on March 16, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
