Cauliflower Fritters

Last night I was sooo bored of making a full meal for myself, it was one of those days, when you just want to eat something light and quick and short and … bah! whatever, you get the point. So instead I made these cauliflower fritters from Ottolenghi: The Cookbook. The book was due so I had to give it up, but I had scribbled the recipe on the notepad lying somewhere in the clutter of my desk. They turned out pretty good for a first time frittering (making fritters). But by no means were they light or quick. Took me some time to make them, but the end result was rewarding. So although my first goal was not met, my final goal of feeding myself was so totally met šŸ™‚

Ingredients:
1 cauliflower – washed and cut into tiny florets
1.5 cups flour (all purpose is fine)
1 tsp red chilli powder
1 tblsp cumin-coriander powder
1 medium onion finely chopped
1 small green chilli – finely chopped
Parseley/Coriander – finely chopped
1 tsp garlic
3 eggs
Oil for frying
Salt

Method:
1. In a large bowl place the cauliflower florets in salted water and microwave for 10 minutes or until soft. You can do it on stove in a pot of hot salted water too.
2. In another bowl, add the flour, garlic, parseley/coriander, onion, spices, salt, chilli, eggs and mix well to form a batter.
3. Once the cauliflower is done, add the florets to the batter and break them in the batter with your hands.
4. Heat oil in a pan for frying.
5. Using a ladle or a spoon, place a small amount of batter in hot oil and spread it out a little so its thin and the flour gets cooked all through. Fry on medium heat. Takes about 4 minutes on each side. Dont crowd, fry in batches.
6. Once they are brown, drain oil on a napkin and serve with ketchup or chutney.

Do you see my pickled onions and peppers … ohhh I so love them šŸ™‚

~ by kharasmithaas on March 3, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
