Karela Paratha – Bitter Gourd

Its been a while I have posted something here … work and life in general keeping me busy. I was also visiting the BH this last weekend, it being the long weekend and all, so once I am there I tend to forget about a lot of things šŸ™‚

Okay … so lets see what did I try my hands on this weekend. Evidently the BH is very fond of Bitter Gourd (I havent many such people in my life, I must say). He is the first one who is all smiles when he hears the name of Karela. To top it all, he actually likes it bitter – “no need to put tamarind or jaggery to spoil the bitter taste” types … I, for one, cannot understand that sentiment. But hey, whatever works ….. I am more than happy to make it šŸ™‚ šŸ™‚

So I made parathas. I had read the recipe sometime ago on Shirley’s blog here. Ill update the post, as soon I find the link for it in my bookmarks. Here’s how I made it.

Ingredients:
1 pound bitter gourd – peeled, grated – I couldnt quite get the grating thing right, so I simply cut them into very tiny pieces
1 onion – finely chopped
1 tblsp Cumin Coriander powder
1 tsp Cayenne pepper
1 tbslp garlic paste or minced garlic
2 tblsp coconut – grated
Wheat flour
Oil
Salt

Method:
1. Finely chop the bitter gourd and the onion.

2. In a small pan, heat oil and add the garlic. After a couple of minutes, add the onion and let it cook for 5 minutes.
3. Add the karela and the coconut and the spices. Cook for another 5-7 minutes
4. Add salt and once cooked, set aside to be used for filling

5. Prepare the dough for making the parathas, using wheat flour, oil and salt – just like rotis.
6. Roll out two small balls of dough into small circular rotis and sandwich the filling in between and roll out the paratha
7. Roast on both sides on a tava and serve hot.

I generally cook only half way and then store them away. They can be re-heated and cooked completely when ready to eat. Hence in the picture the dough doesnt look fully cooked.

Frankly, I still have to get over the aversion of the bitter gourd, I will soon in the BH’s company. But not today. So while he had the parathas, I had my own comfort food of Dal-Rice-Potato Subzee. Seriously, is there anything more comforting than daal-rice??

~ by kharasmithaas on February 15, 2010.

4 Responses to “Karela Paratha – Bitter Gourd”

  1. I can’t imagine how would the parata taste….. Phew!!! Was it not bitter???? Could u still enjoy the ‘PARATA’, like we would generally with any other yummy sabzi like potato or cauli?????? I don know……

    But yes, there is nothing like the dal-rice-either potato bhunjiya or any other bhinjiya……. Oh! it is JANNAT!!!! Provided it is all piping hot…… AHA!

    Ash….
    (http://asha-oceanichope.blogspot.com/)

  2. Did you by any chance get this recipe from my blog?

Leave a Reply

 
