Cauliflower Adventures

I have always had a fear of cooking cauliflower 🙂 I mean anytime I try to make gobi, it either stays too crunchy or too soft – not that just right bite feeling. I had this cauliflower head lying in my fridge, which I had got to make something else and never got around to make it, so I thought let me try a few experiments to get it right. So here I am  …. the first one was to cook over the flame.  The second was to roast the gobi florets with herbs and spices in the oven. Neither of these is a curry. Its just plain stand-alone cauliflower.

Expt #1: In a wok, add very little oil, spring onion whites and greens, some chilli flakes and garlic salt. Add the cauliflower florets and toss and turn on medium heat until they slowly start to brown. The florets should be cut much smaller in size because they are going to stay crunchy all throughout.

Expt #2: In a small oven baking tray, line some aluminum foil. Throw in the coarsely cut cauliflower florets, some chilli flakes, miscellaneous herbs (basil, parsley), sprinkle some paprika and drizzle oil. Place in a pre-heated oven upto 400 degrees. After 10 minutes, toss and drizzle some oil if they are too dry. Cook for another 10 minutes. At the end of it, they should be browned and have a caramelized look.

Verdict: I liked the roasted-in-the-oven version better 🙂 Serves as a good side with a main course. Just another nice way of getting the veggies into the system.

~ by kharasmithaas on January 31, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
