Schezuan Style Eggplant

oooooooooooh I so love spicy eggplant!!! I eat it every time in PF Chang’s, thanks to Nayan for introducing me to this extremely awesome dish. So imagine my wonder when I saw a similar style recipe in Madhur’s cookbook. I just couldnt stop myself. I had to make it. Just had to … and how awesome it turned out. I tasted a piece and enjoyed it so much, I chaatofy’ed the whole plate 🙂 🙂 🙂

Just a couple of tips before the recipe. The dish entails a generous tadka of hot brown sesame seeds. That part sort of slipped my mind. So I used the oil for cooking and then also made more tadka on top, so the dish looks a little oily. The stupid part was, I went through all the trouble of steaming the eggplant instead of frying it to make it healthy and here I made a really oily dish eventually. So anyways, divide the oil and use only a little bit to cook and then rest for the tadka.
Also, I added just about a tsp of stir fry sauce at the end to get the little sweet taste, to sort of skip the sugar part …

So here it goes …

Ingredients:
1 pound eggplants
2 tblsp Oil
1 tblsp sesame seeds
1 bunch spring onions – finely chopped (both white and green)
1 tsp garlic paste or minced garlic
5 tsp soy sauce
2 tsp chilli sauce (if you like spicy, add more)
2 tsp sugar
2 tsp vinegar
Cilantro for garnish

Method:
1. Cut the eggplants (small or large – whichever you have) into diagonal pieces. Steam the eggplant pieces for about 15 minutes. I used a large pot, filled with water 1/4 height, placed a small bowl inverted at the bottom to serve as a stand. Then placed a holed plate (like a steel jaali) on the inverted bowl. Placed the eggplant pieces on the plate and covered it with another vessel. Let the eggplant steam until it is tender but not entirely soft.
2. Once done, set aside the eggplant. In a large wok, heat “a little” oil. Add the spring onions and garlic when oil piping hot. Stir, add the eggplants. Stir more and quickly add the soy sauce, vinegar, chilli sauce. Stir and reduce heat.
3. Cook for about 3-4 minutes. Taste and add salt if necessary. Add the sugar or stir fry sauce.
4. In a small tadka vessel, heat oil and when hot, add the sesame seeds. Once the sesame seeds turn brown, add this tadka to the eggplant stir fry.
5. Serve hot with lots of cilantro sprinkled on top.

~ by kharasmithaas on January 24, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
