Kadhai … err Pan Paneer

Sunday evening is one of the times when I really want to cook something nice, more so to make provisions for lunch next day. Its just to bring up the quality of Monday which is otherwise a very blue day for me 😦 Out of all the days of the week, Thursday is my  favorite. It brings with it the promise of the weekend, and it means that the week is almost done. I am most productive and most cheerful on Thursdays 🙂 🙂

So this Sunday night, I am making Kadhai Paneer. Well, I dont really have a kadhai, so I should rather call it Pan Paneer. I don’t know yet why it is called Kadhai Paneer, is it because it is served in a kadhai or cooked in a kadhai?? My best guess would be if it is cooked in a kadhai. I really like those tiny kadhai thingy’s that they serve this dish in restaurants. Maybe Ill convince the better half to get me a couple of those for any of the upcoming occasion-days of this year 🙂 This is a very simple and fast version of it, one I picked up from my very good friend and roomie in grad school, Tejaswini. She is an awesome cook!

Ingredients:

2 green bellpeppers
1 large or 2 medium sized onions
2 medium tomatoes
1 tblsp cumin-coriander powder
1 tsp paprika
1 tsp turmeric powder
1 tsp garam masala (I have skipped it in my preparation, but if you like it hot, add it)
1/2 block of paneer
1 tbslp kasoori methi
Oil
Salt

Method:

1. Chop chop chop the onions, bellpeppers, tomatoes and paneer in cuboidal bite sized pieces.
2. In a kadhai or pan, heat 1 tbslp of oil
3. Add the onions and bellpepper pieces and cook for about 5-7 minutes on a medium flame until the veggies are a little soft to the bite. We dont want to cook too much and make them too soft.
4. Add the tomato pieces and cook for another 2-3 minutes.
5. Add the spices and kasoori methi and salt. Stir gently until the spices cover all the veggies.
6. Add the paneer pieces, stir and cook on medium flame for 5 minutes.
7. Adjust spices and serve hot.

This is a dry preparation so goes best with rotis.

~ by kharasmithaas on January 10, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
