Spinach Rice with Tomato Soup

I am back – after a very-hectic-lots-of-paying-attention-in-meetings-while-one-is-truly-jetlagged week I am finally back. The work was quite good and everything went as expected, the one thing I hadnt expected was the security checks while getting in and out of Israel. All I can say is, boy am I glad to be home or what. I am still quite jetlagged, just cant seem to sleep at all. I couldn’t just sit and wait for the sleep to come (which I tried, the whole of saturday) so finally I got up and went out to get my groceries done in whatever half-zombie-half-human state I was in.

This is what I quickly cooked up for dinner and leave a little bit over for tomorrow’s lunch (in case I finally sleep over). Spinach is always in my good books, so here it is.

Spinach Rice

Ingredients:
3 cups of basmati rice – cooked with salt and a pinch of turmeric (try to cook the rice so the grains stay separate and not mushy)
1/2 half onion
1/2 bunch of spinach – finely chopped
1.5 cups of mixed veggies – carrots, cauliflower, beans, …
1 tsp mustard seeds
1 tsp cumin seeds
1 tsp urad daal
1 tsp chana daal
1 tsp cumin coriander powder
1 tsp cayenne pepper
Oil
Salt

Method:
1. In a wok, heat oil. Add mustard seeds. Once they splutter, add the cumin seeds. After a few seconds, add the urad daal and chana daal. Fry until brown. Add the onions and cook until soft.
2. Now add the spinach and the veggies. Add the spices and the salt. Cook for 3-4 minutes.
3. Add the rice and toss delicately until the rice and the spinach are mixed well. You can add a tsp of lemon juice if you like the taste.
4. Serve hot.

Tomato Soup

Ingredients:
1/2 onion – finely sliced
1 carrot – finely grated
1.5 cups of tomato puree (or tomatoes are fine too – I just didnt want to blend later on)
1 tsp mustard seeds
1 tsp cayenne pepper
1 cup water
1 tblsp Kasoori Methi or any other herbs you like.
Oil
Salt

Method:
1. Heat some oil in a pot. Add the mustard seeds and once splutter, add the sliced onions.
2. Once soft, add the carrots. Also add the chilli and salt.
3. Add the tomatoes/puree and 1 cup of water.
4. Bring it to a boil on high. Turn to medium and let it simmer for about 5-8 minutes.
5. Taste and adjust salt.
6. Sprinkle the herbs, stir and serve hot.

~ by kharasmithaas on December 20, 2009.

4 Responses to “Spinach Rice with Tomato Soup”

  1. And the steamed asparagus was great too !

  2. Awesome preps…all are…. I loved this spinach rice in particular….. Very yummy & tempting…. Gr8 going!!!! I did not how to follow u, hence subscribed to ur posts…

    Ash…
    (http://asha-oceanichope.blogspot.com/)

  3. I made the above recipe today. My mom is visiting and is a picky eater. she loved it! so did my boy friend…thanks!

Leave a Reply

 
