Kung Pao Chicken

Yooohooo! I survived without groceries last week 🙂

Now that I got my fridge re-filled, I have quite a few things pending to try out. First is the one thing that I love the most in Chinese restaurants – Kung Pao!!! I just love it, love it and Hunan Chilli (in mountain view, bay area) does a really good job at it. Its a huge meal, but sometimes I do takeout and eat all of it in shot 😀 😀

Considering the fact that these days, my shopping really is only grocery shopping or for food-related stuff, I finally decided to make Kung Pao at home and not do take-out. The recipe is fairly simple, but I am not so good at cooking chicken yet. So I decided to checkout a couple of videos on youtube to get an idea of how chicken looks like while it is being cooked. Once I was confident, I set on my mission. Here is how I made Kung Pao chicken. Ofcourse, the chicken can be replaced by tofu and the dish becomes purely vegetarian.

Ingredients:

2 pound chicken breast – cleaned and but into bite size pieces
5 tsp of soy sauce
2 tblsp rice vinegar
4 tblsp chicken stock (optional)
1 tbsp hoisin sauce (optional)
1/2 tsp sugar
3-4 red chillies
1 tsp red chilli sauce
1/2 egg
1 tsp corn flour
1 tblsp chopped/minced garlic
1 tsp chopped/minced ginger
General veggies – bite sized cut onions, bit sized cut bellpeppers, sliced water chestnuts, babycorn
3 tblsp peanuts roasted
salt
pepper
oil

Method:
1. Marinate chicken and set aside: In a bowl, add chicken pieces, 2-3 tsp of soy sauce, the egg, salt for taste and corn flour. The egg is added only to make the frying of chicken easy. Hence only half an egg is enough. Marinate for about 30 mins
2. Prepare sauce and set aside: In a bowl, mix vinegar, remaining soy sauce, chicken broth, hoisin sauce, pepper, salt, sugar, 2 slit red chillies and the chilli sauce.
3. In a pot, heat some oil and fry the chicken on medium flame until it is about 3/4th cooked. Check a piece to make sure. Remove the pieces, drain the oil and set aside.
4. In a large wok, heat 1 tblsp of oil, add the rest of the red chillies. Let them cook until brown. If the peanuts are not roasted, add them now and roast them. If they are already roasted, you can add them later. Once the peanuts are slightly brown, add the giner-garlic paste and the veggies. Cook for 3-4 minutes.
5. Add the sauce and stir in well.
6. Add the chicken pieces and stir and let it cook in the sauce for 4-5 minutes
7. Adjust salt
8. If the sauce seems to be thin (if you used the chicken broth), add a little bit or cornstarch mixture to make it thick.
9. Serve hot plain or with rice

Note to me: Next time I’ll make the chicken pieces slightly smaller.

~ by kharasmithaas on December 6, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
