Corn Enchiladas with Spinach

I am going out on a work-related out-of-country trip this week and I have a few things that need taken care of, and the laundary is not done yet and its already Sunday. Under these conditions, one would think that I would be packing and finishing up stuff and checking off items from my checklist. But no. What am I doing? Cooking!!! He he he …
What can I do? Some of the cookbooks I checked out are going to be due by the time I come back and then I wont be able to cook some things I bookmarked. Yeah yeah, I can always do some last-minute packing – it would be quick too that way 😀 😀

Now that my conscience is clear, lets get to business.

This the second bookmarked recipe from a cookbook I found in the library – Real Women Eat Chiles. I picked the book because of its interesting title. I found only a few interesting recipes I want to try out. Most of the other stuff is slightly American-type-of-food sort of, which I am not a very big fan of. So anyways, this one was very tempting, so I tried it out and turned out pretty well.

Ingredients:

1 can of whole kernel corn – or con cut off from a fresh grilled cob
1 bunch spinach
4 corn tortillas
1 cup milk
1 tblsp minced garlic
1/2 of a medium sized onion chopped
Salt
Pepper
Butter
4 tblsp Cheese – grated

Method:
1. Prepare the corn – In a non-stick pan, put 1 tblsp of butter. Once it melts, put in the corn (drained). Sprinkle some salt and pepper. Stir until the corn kernels turn slightly brownish. Cool and set aside.
2. Prepare the spinach – In a pot/pan, place 1 tsp of oil. Put the washed/drained spinach and cook for 3-4 minutes until it is soft. We will add salt later, so no need to add salt here.
2. In a mixer/grinder, place 3/4th of the cooled corn from (1), the milk and the garlic and mince into a puree. Save the rest of the corn for garnish.
3. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
4. Grease a small baking tray with butter. On a tava/pan, slightly warm a tortilla. Place the warm tortilla on a plate. Smear a tbslp of the corn-milk mixture over it. Sprinkle the spinach, onion and some grated cheese. Wrap the tortilla  into a roll and place it in the pan. Open side facing the pan. Repeat the process for all the tortillas.

5. Pour the remaining milk-corn mixture over the rolls and sprinkle the remaining cheese over it. Let it cover evenly over all the tortilla rolls.

6. Bake for about 10 minutes.
7. Remove the tray, serve and garnish with roasted corn. Enjoy!

I think its possible to skip the cheese altogether. The milk-corn mixture is quite creamy on its own.

~ by kharasmithaas on December 6, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
