Veg Kurma

I generally do my groceries on a weekly basis, like most people. Saturday is my field day. If I would have my way, I would probably go to the Farmer’s market, then to the Indian store, then to Safeway or Target then to Trader Joe’s, then to one of the Halal stores, then to ….. let me stop here before I run out of my weekly grocery allowance 😛
The last weekend I was so busy spending quality time with the husband, I forgot all about groceries. I picked a couple of things on my way home from work on Monday but it was quite late so skipped the full shebang. Its almost Thursday and my fridge is practically running out of things to cook. I am trying hard, believe me, really hard to resist the temptation to run out right now and get stuff. But I am going to try and push through this week and shop only on Saturday. Its a challenge, seriously!

I rummaged through the freezer to find some frozen mixed veggie packs and frozen peas saved for a rainy day 🙂 Actually during the graduate school days, mixed veggie kurma (sort of) was really a life savior. So I decided to make it (although not the crude school style :P). I picked the recipe from “Cuisines of India” by Smita Chandra. I had just randomly picked this book from the library a few days ago. So here’s how it goes ….

Ingredients:

Spices – red chilli powder, fennel powder, cumin-coriander powder, turmeric, garam masala (if you like it hot, I would skip it next time)
1 tsp each of mustard seeds and cumin seeds
1 tsp ginger-garlic paste
2 tblsp dessicated coconut or regular coconut powder
1/2 cup yoghurt
1 onion – finely chopped
1 tomato – finely chopped
Mixed Veggies – beans, carrots, cauliflower, broccoli, peas, zucchini, etc …
Coriander leaves

Method:
1. Mix all the spices and set aside
2. In a pan, heat oil, add mustard, cumin seeds. Once they splutter, add the onions and cook until transperant. Add ginger garlic paste and cook for a minute
3. Add the tomatoes and mix well and cook for about 2-3 minutes until soft.
4. Add the spice powder from (1) and mix well.
5. Add the yoghurt and mix well. This will form the basic gravy
6. Add some water to adjust the consistency of the gravy
7. Add the mixed veggies. Cook for about 10-12 minutes. I defrosted the veggies a little bit before adding them in the pan, so they werent exactly raw. Cook on medium flame, until veggies are cooked but not too soft.
8. Serve with rotis

~ by kharasmithaas on December 2, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
