Vangyache Kaap – the short-cut

I love Maharashtrian food. It is simple, it is fast and most of all it is delicious. I have been wanting to try to make Vangyaache Kaap for a while now. Just never came around to do it. Even now, when I did do it – I took a short-cut 😛

This is my version of it. I skipped the part of dipping into besan and frying. I just fried the eggplant slices as is.

Ingredients:
7-8 small eggplants of 3-4 long ones. I did not use the large ones we use for making bharta. The slices come out too huge. So I stuck to the small or the long slender ones.
Spices – 3 parts of cumin-coriander powder, 1 part of red chilli powder and 1/2 part of turmeric powder – mixed in a small bowl.
Salt to taste
Juice of 1 lemon

Method:
1. Slice the eggplants into circular slices. Dont make them too thin, or else, they will shrivel up during the frying. Fry these slices in oil until slightly brown. (No need to deep fry)

2. Remove them from oil and place them on a tissue paper to dry up the excess oil. Arrange these on a plate and sprinkle the spice mixture on the top.

3. Add some lemon for taste and serve hot with rotis.

This doesnt take more than 15 mins to prepare and is a perfect quick meal when you are due for grocery shopping and are too bored to do it 😛

~ by kharasmithaas on November 30, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
