Fondue Fiasco and Fast Fried Rice

The other day the BH took me to a really nice French fondue place. Seriously, Ive never been to one before. Ive been to places where the chefs cook in front of you and what not, but this was my first, where I was expected to cook on my own table and then pay for it too!!

The appetizer was great but the server’s instructional lecture on what was coming up next was long. In hind sight though I feel I should’ve paid more attention to him while he was explaining, atleast I wouldn’t have ended up goofing up the whole dinner as I did. He brought in a simmering pot of broth, lots of veggies, shrimp, chicken, beef and an array of sauces to the table. I was just getting ready for a hearty meal, but he left all the raw stuff on the table and left!

It took me a few minutes to understand that we were supposed to cook all these items ourselves in the broth as it boiled on the grill.

This second part is more hilarious than anything so far, because out of all the idiotic things I couldve done, I did the one most idiotic thing. I dumped everything in the pot all at once!!! I know I know, how much more stupid can one get than this.

Everything cooked all at once, and I had to fish out all the veggies and chicken, etc … out and dish it on our tiny aluminum plates. It looked like a four year old’s plate, where all the food was mixed up, sauces were running all over the place and the worst part was, when the server asked me what you liked best, I just had to say “Everything!” because I had no idea exactly what I was eating with what!!!!

Arrghhh …. it was such a major major fiasco, I cannot believe what I did. All this while my poor BH was sitting there, staring at my own little circus, while enjoying my on-the-spot-shameful-cooking.

Anyways, the evening was splendid otherwise and all this happened in Buffalo, where I wont be going back anytime soon, particularly to this restaurant, so no harm done and all is not lost, but this is one embarrassing situation I wont be forgetting about, anytime soon :)

Talking about cooking everything at once, this is one fried rice is one of my backup plan recipes when I have veggies in hand and not many ideas in my head.

There is no real recipe to it really, just a great deal of chopping of whatever you have, bell-peppers, broccoli, carrots, mushrooms, etc … Sometimes I add tofu or chicken, whichever is thawed and ready for use.

Add some oil to a wok and cook the chicken (or brown the tofu pieces) and set them aside. In the same wok and oil, add the veggies and cook them for a good 7-8 minutes until they are soft. Add soy sauce, chilli sauce, vinegar, teriyaki sauce, salt and pepper for seasoning. Add pre-cooked or leftover rice (I use basmati generally – bigger grain, non-sticky). Stir in the chicken/tofu and add a scrambled egg if you like. Check a final taste and you are set!

Add in some basil or mint if you have some lying in your veggies drawer for an extra kick!

~ by kharasmithaas on September 22, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

