Lettuce Wraps

This place has been silent for a while, but its not me. Its just all the work and the writer’s block and the summer heat and the … aa umm aa …. ok running out of excuses …. so I admit it was actually me.

But the good part is that I have been cooking and taking pictures and all, just not posting them to the blog. So I am going to write all of them in wholesale right now.

The first one is Lettuce Wraps. I ate these in one of the very fine restaurants on Castro in Mountain View, its been a while so I dont really remember the name of the place. So I looked up online, turns out, Lettuce Wraps are actually pretty popular. So here’s my version of it …

Ingredients:
6-7 Lettuce Shells (preferably cup shells would work best, I only had romaine on hand, so I used romain hearts)
1 pound of ground chicken
2 garlic cloves – crushed
1 bunch spring onions (green onions 4-5) – sliced
2 tblsp hoisin sauce
4 tsp soy sauce
1 tbslp lemon zest
2 tblsp lemon juice
1 tblsp chilli sauce
Sweet chilli sauce for the side
Oil
Salt

Method:
1. In a skillet, heat 1 tblsp oil. Add the garlic and the ground chicken and cook on medium heat for 8-10 minutes until the chicken is done.
2. Add the whites of the green onions, lemon juice, hoisin sauce, soy sauce and lemon zest. Stir all and cook for another 5 minutes.
3. Stir in the chilli sauce and adjust taste for salt.
4. Sprinkle the greens of the green onions and serve them on the lettuce shells with the sweet chilli sauce for dipping.

Enjoy!!

~ by kharasmithaas on July 10, 2010.

9 Responses to “Lettuce Wraps”

  1. amazing. thx!

  2. yummy…I love recipes like this one!

  3. Was great! Even with TVP in place of chicken.

  4. What are the bits of orange in the ground chicken mixture that look like diced carrots? I don’t see it in the ingredient list, but I’d like to make these for dinner tonight.

    • Yes they are actually carrots. I just had one spare and the recipe doesn’t call for it. Sorry I missed it in the ingredients list.
      -FV

      • Thanks! I bet it will add some nice crunch if I add it in towards the end and not saute it too long.

  5. Is the Sweet chili sauce made by you or purchased? I am thinking of the stuff you get with spring rolls at a Thai restaurant and I’m certain that can’t be it… or is it? Thanks!

  6. I love your picture of the lettuce wraps. I am trying put together a cook book and cannot find any stock photos of lettuce wraps. May I use yours? and I will be happy to add your site or any credits you would like. thank you.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

