Two Chicken Recipes

While browsing through the shelves of Mountain View Public Library, I came across this cook-book a few weeks ago “Real Balti Cookbook” by Mridula Baljekar. I had’nt read any reviews or anything, but there were not many Indian cookbooks so I picked it up. I had it on my shelf for so many days, and just when I got an email saying its due, I realised I had bookmarked some recipes and hadnt tried them yet. Now I am too lazy to write those down (I’d rather type later, like I am doing now), so I decided to make both the chicken recipes I had found interesting in quick succession before I lost the book.

Hows the book, you may ask … well, it is o-kay. There are better ones on the subject of kadhai cooking. But anyways, my chicken came out pretty good and Ill keep these as a meal to be served with rice or parathas, or with bread … the way I ate at lunch when I forgot to carry my rotis – talk about absent-mindedness. Just today I made some Scallops (subject of another post) and arranged the plate and everything to take a picture and came to my living room to get the camera, saw that I had a couple of new emails, sat to read them and forgot all about the scallops :) :) Poor things, waiting to be shot, I realised only about 10 minutes later, that I had something to do, something unfinished … and then ran back to the kitchen :)

Anyways, lets get back to food … The first is called just that – Kadhai Chicken. Now I am not sure this is absolutely the authentic way to cook it or not. This is probably just one version. By the way, both recipes require marination, which should not be skipped. So needs a little bit of planning.

Kadhai Chicken

Ingredients:
1 pound Chicken pieces (breat boneless or general with bones) – I used combination of both
1 tblsp ginger-garlic paste
1 cup yoghurt
1 large onion
1 1/2 tsp red chilli powder
1 tsp turmeric
1 tbslp coriander-cumin powder
2 medium tomatoes – finely chopped
1 tblsp kasoori methi (dried fenugreek leaves)
1 tblsp kadhai garam masala – I skipped this one, because I am not a fan of garam masala
Lots of fresh Coriander for garnish
Salt
Ghee

Method:
1. Marinate the chicken: Mix the chicken pieces with yoghurt and half of the ginger-garlic paste. Toss and cover the chicken completely. You can keep it in the fridge marinating for a couple of hours, or better leave it overnite.
2. Next morning, rise and shine and cook :) Get the chicken out of the fridge atleast 30 minutes before cooking
3. In a kadhai, melt the ghee and add the onion. Fry for 5 minutes until it is transparent. Then add the ginger garlic paste and the spices. After a minute of frying the spices, add the tomatoes and cook for 8 minutes until everything is soft and mushy
4. Add the chicken along with all of its marinade at this point, pour in some warm water and add salt. Stir the chicken and completely cover with gravy. Bring to one boil, reduce to medium heat and let it cook peacefully for another 10 minutes. Occasionally stir.
5. Once the chicken is tender, you are done. Add the kasoori methi and fresh coriander. The fragrance at this point is beyond comparison … aha!
6. Once the gravy settles for a minute, serve with hot rotis or rice.

The second one was slightly sweeter on taste and hence …..

Chicken Korma

Ingredients:
1 pound Chicken pieces (breat boneless or general with bones) – I used combination of both
1 tblsp ginger-garlic paste
1 cup yoghurt
1 large onion – sliced not diced
1/2 cup cashewnuts – ground
1 tbslp creme (sour creme is fine)
1 1/2 tsp red chilli powder
1 tsp turmeric
1 tbslp coriander-cumin powder
2 medium tomatoes – finely diced – or tomato puree is fine too
1 tblsp kadhai garam masala – I skipped this one, because I am not a fan of garam masala
Lots of fresh mint
Salt
Ghee

Method:
1. Marinate the chicken: Mix the chicken pieces, yoghurt, half of ginger-garlic paste, turmeri powder and little salt. Leave it for couple of hours in a fridge or overnite. Remove 30 minutes before cooking.
2. Prepare cashew nuts paste. Mix the ground cashews with a little bit of water and the creme to make a nice smooth paste.
3. In a kadhai, heat some ghee or butter. Add the onions (sliced). After cooking for 5 minutes, add the ginger garlic paste. After a minute, add the spices.
4. Add the chicken with all its marinade, stir fry on high for a bit.
5. Reduce heat to medium, and let it simmer while you add the cashew nut paste, tomato puree and salt to taste.
6. After about 6-7 minutes add the mint leaves and stir them into the gravy. Add water to adjust gravy consistency.
7. Once the chicken is tender, its ready. Garnish with more mint or coriander if you wish and serve with rotis or rice.

~ by kharasmithaas on February 18, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

